St Joseph's Catholic Primary School

The Way, The Truth, The Life

Search Search
Translate Translate

Diocese of Arundel & Brighton

The Diocese of Arundel & Brighton was established on 28 May 1965, having previously been a part of the larger Archdiocese of Southwark.  There have been five Bishops of the Diocese, including Bishop Cormac Murphy-O'Connor who, in March 2000, became the 10th Archbishop of Westminster.  

Bishop Richard Moth was installed as the fifth Bishop on 28 May 2015 and continues to serve the Diocese today.  His motto, Pax et Gaudium in Domino, means ‘Peace and Joy in the Lord’.


Bishop Richard last visited St Joseph's in July 2015, to offer thanksgiving for the service of our retired Headteacher, Mr Stephen Phillips, and to bless our new school buildings.   

The Diocese comprises the counties of West & East Sussex and Surrey, and the city of Brighton & Hove. It is one of 22 Roman Catholic Dioceses in England & Wales.

Situated in the South East of England, the Diocese encompasses a large number of villages and smaller towns, as well as highly populated parts of Surrey, central Sussex and the coastal region running from Chichester to the Kent border. There are a number of universities (Sussex, Chichester, Brighton, Surrey, Royal Holloway College in Egham) as well as technical colleges and Colleges of Higher Education.

The Diocese has a weekly Mass attendance of 40,334 persons. There are 83 parishes, some with multiple churches.  There are a large number of Religious Orders, both men and women, living and working in the Diocese in a number of apostolates. The Diocese has a total of 83 Catholic schools.


You can visit the Diocesan website here:

You can read about Bishop Richard’s pastoral plan for the Diocese here:

Please pray with us for the future of our Diocese...